Teaching as a doorway to new discoveries for the teacher

It is so easy to look at teaching as a doorway for the student. My teaching philosophy is aimed at teaching my students using the music they like and enjoy.  I have found that most often this gives better results because of a higher motivation. Sure the price is extra homework for the teacher but that can also be a blessing.

My students have a wide range of musical tastes and any given day might make for playing and teaching finger picking or very basic tunes to heavy metal, technique dense tunes by Extreme, Dragon Force etc to smooth jazzy stuff. However since my students come from various ethnic backgrounds I am introduced to some great music from countries other than New Zealand, Australia,  America and the UK. I am especially joyful about the Asian contributions such as the videos below which are the results of this weeks schedule.

Asian Pop and Rock

A Chinese song, that’s all I know.

And from Korea, I am especially enchanted with Younha

But at the same time I got to learn about Gojira a French band

and with another student we are working on this very cool Miles Davis tune called So What:

to follow that up in the next hour with Dragon Force

And this is just a very narrow cross selection of what passes by my desk.

THANK YOU ALL STUDENTS FOR PROVIDING ME WITH ALL THE MUSIC YOU WANT TO PLAY AND I SUBSEQUENTLY GET TO PLAY AS WELL.

Leave a Reply

